So Much Wealth To Go Around

Why are an estimated 650 million people still living on less than 2.15 U.S. dollars a day ?

Michael "Mick" Bisignani
4 min readOct 14, 2023
Photo by Jose Thormann on Unsplash

Saturday mornings are times of reflection for me. I routinely travel from my home state of Connecticut, one of the most affluent states in the US, a state which ranks #3 or #8 depending on which source you consult, to the Bronx, the poorest of the New York City boroughs. Every week I get to experience the juxtaposition of wealthier worlds, and the world of those who struggle. I am fortunate to include myself in that economic slice that we in America label as the middle class, and I lead, more or less, a normal life, within my means. I drive average car, not my dream car, that classic blue Maserati that I have dreamed about since my teenage years. As a dweller of the middle class I have also started to feel the impact of the slowly changing and deteriorating standards of living in the US and power of middle class wages. Therefore, more than ever, I pay significant attention to family finances, and plan for the future.

Recently, as I experienced the urban reality of the Bronx, I was struck by the images of street beggars, approaching cars at crowded, polluted intersections. I keep a small stash of quarters, and a few singles which I usually pull from to give a small hand out. When I lower my window to donate, I tend to…

--

--

Michael "Mick" Bisignani

Professional Technologist, Aspiring Food Celebrity. Catholic spreading messages of Empathy and Equality.