Pentecost: My “Back to Church” Anniversary

How a reflection on Pentecost turned into a deeper understanding of the Holy Trinity

Michael "Mick" Bisignani
7 min readJun 16, 2022

Initiated on June 5, 2022, Pentecost Sunday

Pentecost Sunday in the liturgical calendar marks 50 days after Easter Sunday and closes out the Easter season [1]. It is an important day for Christian believers. It is often referred to as the “birthday of the church”.

On a personal level, Pentecost Sunday is a particular day of commemoration for me. It marks the date when I returned, and got closer to my Catholic faith. Looking back, my return was not just a coincidence. I am convinced that my attending mass on that not so distant date, was a manifestation of the power of the Holy spirit, an example of God’s care for little old me, a perpetual sinner.

Photo by Federico Respini on Unsplash

Let me share some thoughts with you about my personal and theological understanding that makes this Sunday Pentecost a super special time. I consider it a spiritual date with God, that year after year. It is a date that I look forward to and for which I am extremely grateful.

The gospel of John tells us that on that day, Jesus rejoins the disciples who were gathered in a small room, perhaps a dark one, with doors locked, perhaps a simple, windowless space, a place for hiding and self…

--

--

Michael "Mick" Bisignani

Professional Technologist, Aspiring Food Celebrity. Catholic spreading messages of Empathy and Equality.