A playful Toss up between Christian and Secular thoughts

Michael "Mick" Bisignani
6 min readSep 14, 2022
photo by author

After a short hiatus, I decided that is was time to come back to this project and continue my creative writing experiment on a rainy , damp day. This time, my writing alcove is situated in a reserved corner of my public library, a semi-private area where I to my left, I see a small garden , filled with small trees, perennial grasses and, my favorite , large ferns. It’s a peaceful corner, very little distraction well lighted, a perfect little place to escape for a few hours.

Let’s continue our journey through Professor Stone’s book “Latin for the Illiterati” [1] and pick a few new expressions to explore. Today this will bounce around between the religious and secular spaces.

word 6, page 8

ad verbum

This is one of those expressions that we can count on when we want to sound erudite in our writing and speech. It can be translated as “word for word”. I suspect that the expression is used less commonly than its cousin “verbatim”.

But this was not why this set of words jumped out at me. A theological association instead prompted my interest and curiosity. In the Latin vulgate bible, we find in the gospel of John at 1:14 we…

--

--

Michael "Mick" Bisignani

Professional Technologist, Aspiring Food Celebrity. Catholic spreading messages of Empathy and Equality.