To Hell and Back. How Latin taught me about Black Metal Music

Michael "Mick" Bisignani
6 min readJun 20, 2022

My “Pastry Shop Latin” journey continues. It is my word play experiment, done in a stream of consciousness style where words activate my memories, emotions and maybe, my intellectual side. With a few mini sfogliatelle in my belly, which by the way were extra crunchy today, let’s get started and have some word fun. I am perfectly comfortable from my vantage point, a corner table at DeLillos [6]. I get to watch patrons come and go, drink their espresso shots, argue in Italian, Sicilian and Neapolitan dialects. Albanian and Spanish is also heard from table to table. Some speak loud, some use the language of laughter, others sit in silence, enjoying the company of their inner thoughts. And then there are the children, who with great excitement, impatiently wait for their gelato cones with some of the greatest smiles one can imagine. It is a pleasant spectacle, which I just can’t get enough of, a display of immigrant and Italian-American culture in this small enclave of the Bronx.

Just as reminder, the expression that I selected this time from Professor Stone’s book “Latin for the Illiterati” [1], are not semantically connected to those that I have selected in previous installments. They are just words and sentences that just jumped out at me from the pages of book. So here we go .

word 5 page 7

--

--

Michael "Mick" Bisignani

Professional Technologist, Aspiring Food Celebrity. Catholic spreading messages of Empathy and Equality.