Elon Musk and the Legitimization of American Plutocracy

Michael "Mick" Bisignani
10 min readOct 31, 2022

How the world just veered right onto Democracy’s off ramp

George Orwell, source: Wikipedia Commons

Elon Musk finally managed to buy Twitter and I am now concerned. Very concerned and so should you.

I am not an avid scholar of Elon Musk. But recently, the news around his actions, and what he has publicly expressed , has registered on my personal radar and scope of sensitivity. Some of the more recent signals I have received include statements around his handling of Starlink and, of course, the news about his $44B dollar acquisition of Twitter. For now I will pretend to ignore this new news about Starlink and won’t dive into many details. I must say however, any judgement emanating from the Starlink news is probably immature, as I have not been able to find enough information that provides a trustworthy accounting of the costs incurred by Musk’s company and what has been contributed by governments and other sponsors in support of Ukraine’s military needs to fend off Russia’s aggression.

The second signal is the real biggie. And I am not referring to the amount of the transaction that Mr. Musk shelled out. Today any newsworthy acquisition will fall into the billions. We all know that the world of M & A won’t waste much energy on small deals. No killing. No deal. Now I might be underestimating this signal but is much more than a signal. In a…

--

--

Michael "Mick" Bisignani

Professional Technologist, Aspiring Food Celebrity. Catholic spreading messages of Empathy and Equality.